Skip to content

Say Hello To My Little Friend

July 20, 2012

20120720-184952.jpg

I found this little guy in my yard.

Some juvenile snakes are hard to identify because they will have a different color or pattern as adults. I think this is one of the Racer species that are very common in my parts. Racers are constrictors and as adults, they prey primarily on rodents. Little snakes grow up to be big snakes and big snakes eat big rodents. That’s always a good thing.

20120720-184945.jpg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2012 7:26 am

    Brings to mind a story of my youth when I was visiting relatives in Arkansas. Two of us boys found a baby snake and were playing with it when one of the interested adults came by to inspect. Turned out it was a baby Copperhead! Good thing we were playing gentile and it wasn’t irritated.

  2. August 1, 2012 1:10 am

    Just a bit of advice (I’ve got a Snake), don’t hold them too close to their heads. They really don’t like it! When I do that to my snake, he tries to wriggle out of my grasp.

Speak your mind...

