Skip to content

30-30 Trail Boss Load

June 15, 2012

I loaded my first batch of cast bullets tonight. They are 30-30 Winchester, 170 grain flat nose and 10.5 grains of IMR Trail Boss.

They’re a bit ugly, but I suspect they’ll shoot just fine.

20120615-222554.jpg

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2012 11:02 pm

    Did you do the casting? If so, what alloy did you use? I’ve been thinking of loading some heavy 220g for the old 1917, but want to get the alloy right to reduce leading as much as possible.

    • June 16, 2012 9:56 pm

      I did cast these myself. I used wheel weights. Not sure how hard it is or what the alloy content is but I have seen it on the internet. I think using Trail Boss will reduce leading verses traditional smokeless powders.

  2. Jim Mitchell permalink
    June 16, 2012 5:56 am

    Looks good to me. Let us know how they shoot.

  3. June 19, 2012 9:50 am

    I shoot Trail Boss in my 45 Colt. Not as much recoil and fills up the case nicely without a lot of airspace. Plenty good for target shooting.

Trackbacks

  1. 30-30 Trail Boss Test « Three Days to Anarchy

Speak your mind...

