Skip to content

Casting Bullets

June 13, 2012

A couple of my friends cast lead bullets. Lead is a very inexpensive option for a large caliber rifle. Combine lead bullets with IMR Trail Boss and an obscure cartridge like 9.3×57 becomes affordable, pleasant and downright fun to shoot. So when I acquired a Winchester 94 in 30-30 from one of them, I jumped at the opportunity to cast my own lead. I purchased a Lee 170 grain flat nose bullet mold and borrowed a Lee Pro 4 20lb electric furnace and got to work.

After the bullets were cast and cooled, I applied Lee Liquid Alox bullet lubricant. The directions say to let them stand overnight. If time allows and God willing, I’ll get these loaded tomorrow night. My plan is to do this load with Trail Boss and make it a very mild, cheap and super fun gun to shoot.

I could really get into this…

20120613-213354.jpg

20120613-213746.jpg

No comments yet

Speak your mind...

