Skip to content

Raised Bed Garden, part 2

April 14, 2012

The raised bed garden is complete. Picking up where I left off in my first post, https://drivelanddope.wordpress.com/2012/03/31/raised-bed-garden-part-1/ .

I leveled the boxes.The location of my garden has a slight incline so I had to do a bit of digging to get them set right.20120413-213548.jpg

I put one wheel barrow of my home grown compost into each “square” and added several bags of top soil to each box. I bought the bags of top soil from Lowe’s. On a side note about my compost. I collect most of my grass clippings thoughout the summer then mix in my fallen leaves in late fall. I also put in rabbit and chicken manure. And if I can get some, I add horse manure as well. This compost pile was started at the end of Summer 2010. It “cooked” for 2 winters and Summer 2011. It is very rich. I’m amazed at how well nature does it’s thing. I have another pile from last fall that is cooking and will be used next summer. I repeat this cycle every summer.20120413-213603.jpg

 

My youngest helping smooth out the soil.20120413-213644.jpg

The finished product. I will give the soil a week or so to warm up and compact a bit before I plant. I’ll continue to post updates.

20120413-213619.jpg

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. attemptinggreen permalink
    April 14, 2012 7:10 pm

    Nice looking beds!

Speak your mind...

