Skip to content

Raised Bed Garden, part 1

March 31, 2012

Last summer I experimented with a raised bed garden. I was happy with the way it worked. It was far easier to keep weeded and I also did not have to deal with the aggressive grass runners that have taken over my traditional “in ground” gardens in the past.

The box I built last year was a simple 4′ x 8′ design with a center beam for support. I made it with regular, non preasure treated 2″x6″ lumber.

This year I am adding on to the garden by building 3 more identical boxes.

20120331-215246.jpg

20120331-215321.jpg

Once the boxes were built, I placed them where I wanted them.

20120331-215343.jpg

I chose to remove the sod from underneath the boxes

20120331-215403.jpg

I found all of these lovely critters while removing the sod from just one 4′ x 8′ section. This is why I have mole problems. At least the chickens got a good snack.

20120331-215427.jpg

I will have to level the ground next. I plan to place a weed barrier down before I fill the beds with soil.

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2012 10:54 am

    Great little how-to! 🙂 I think many folks will find this quiet valuable and helpful. Well done.

Trackbacks

  1. Raised Bed Garden, part 2 « Three Days to Anarchy

Speak your mind...

