Skip to content

Wood Heat

December 16, 2011

Boy, do I like a good fire and you just can’t beat the heat from a wood burning stove.

When I was a kid I hated going into the woods on freezing cold Saturday mornings to go wood cutting. I didn’t have any choice as to whether I was going to do it or not back then. Dad saw to it that I always came along to “help”. It was good for me though. I learned many things about hard work and also how to operated one of the most manly tools there are, the chainsaw. Nowadays I do it voluntarily and I wrote about some of this in a previous post https://drivelanddope.wordpress.com/2011/10/15/adventures-in-woodcutting/ so I won’t rehash it all.

If you have access to a reliable and inexpensive source of firewood, and if you don’t already have one, I would highly recommend you install a wood stove or a stove insert if you have a pre-existing fire-place. You can literally heat your home all winter for the cost of a few gallons of gasoline. Depending on how hard the winter is where you live and the cost of electricity, natural gas or fuel oil, you could have a substantial cost savings. If you are starting “from the ground up”, consider all of the costs wisely. I don’t pay for wood and already posses all of the necesary equipment, so I don’t calculate or consider any overhead. And best of all, my labor is free. After spending the majority of my years in Ohio and Colorado, I consider the winters here in Arkansas to be fairly mild. And being in “tornado alley”, there is seldom a shortage of folks who need storm damaged trees cleaned out of the driveways or cow pastures. Free wood and Christian charity. How can you beat that?

If you are a “prepper” or a “survivalist nut job” like me, then I think a wood burner should be high on your priority list.

No comments yet

Speak your mind...

